Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

#1597 new defect

No message appears to enable the statusbar and no welcome screen is shown after re-installation

Reported by: passbrains Assignee:
Priority: P4 Milestone:
Module: Adblock-Plus-for-Internet-Explorer Keywords:
Cc: Blocked By:
Blocking: Platform: Internet Explorer
Ready: yes Confidential: no
Tester: Verified working: no
Review URL(s):

Description (last modified by oleksandr)

Adapted from https://www.passbrains.com/dashboard/view-ticket.php?ticket_no=AIN-71

Environment

Windows + 8 64bit + Internet Explorer 11 + Dutch
ABP version 1.2.705.0

How to reproduce

On a system you have never installed addblock before

  1. In IE disable the status bar (Disable_status_bar.png)
  2. download the installation program from        https://adblockplus.org/devbuilds/adblockplusie/00latest.exe
  3. Close IE
  4. Run the downloaded installation program
  5. Start IE
  6. A message appears to enable the status bar and a welcome screen is shown (Disable_status_bar.png and Welcome.png)
  7. Uninstall Adblock using Control Panel
  8. In IE disable the status bar
  9. Close IE
  10. Run the downloaded installation program
  11. Start IE
  12. No message appears to enable the statusbar and no welcome screen is shown

Observed behaviour

No message appears to enable the statusbar and no welcome screen is shown

Expected behaviour

A message to enable the status bar and a welcome screen should be shown as is done for after a fresh installation.
(see attachements)

Attachments (3)

4902_1413485604_Disable_Status_bar.png (30.9 KB) - added by passbrains 4 years ago.
4902_1413485604_Enable_status_bar.png (24.0 KB) - added by passbrains 4 years ago.
4902_1413485604_Welcome.png (139.5 KB) - added by passbrains 4 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

Changed 4 years ago by passbrains

Changed 4 years ago by passbrains

Changed 4 years ago by passbrains

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by oleksandr

  • Component changed from Unknown to Adblock-Plus-for-Internet-Explorer
  • Description modified (diff)
  • Priority changed from Unknown to P4
  • Ready set

This means that we should delete all files when doing the uninstall. That way the "first run" logic would get triggered on re-install.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.