Changes between Initial Version and Version 1 of Ticket #2853


Ignore:
Timestamp:
08/05/2015 02:33:11 AM (4 years ago)
Author:
Ross
Comment:

So I know the initial reaction is "Well if you kill the browser before it saves the setting, of course the setting isn't saved" but it gives a terrible (imo) user experience and is really confusing. Sometimes the setting IS saved if you quit at a certain point. Sometimes the setting is NOT saved if you quit at a certain point.

How should/does saving the settings work? I thought it might be triggered either on each settings change or when the settings menu itself is left? Or that it is async? If so how long should it take?

The video I've attached shows an example of the issue (although it does not exactly match the steps). I could not reproduce this on my actual device, but can on several of the TestObject devices.

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • Ticket #2853 – Description

    initial v1  
    2121 16. Select [Settings] > [Adblocking] > [Acceptable Ads]. 
    2222 17. Observe the [Allow some ...] checkbox is checked (as expected). 
     23 18. Try these steps again, changing the setting and then quitting at different times, then checking if the setting was saved. 
    2324 
    2425=== Observed behaviour === 
     
    2627 
    2728=== Expected behaviour === 
    28 The value last selected by user should be correctly saved and restored on the next run, regardless (depending) on how they quit or left the app. 
     29The value last selected by user should be correctly saved and restored on the next run, regardless (sort of) on how they quit or leave the app.