Opened 4 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

#3639 closed defect (rejected)

When user selects to block additional dialogs on the options page, they are unable to delete anymore filters.

Reported by: passbrains Assignee:
Priority: Unknown Milestone:
Module: User-Interface Keywords:
Cc: scheer, greiner Blocked By:
Blocking: Platform: Opera
Ready: no Confidential: no
Tester: Unknown Verified working: no
Review URL(s):

Description (last modified by scheer)

Adapted from https://platform.passbrains.com/dashboard/view-ticket.php?ticket_no=AOP-255

When the user deletes a filter list within the options page of ABP they are presented with a dialog box. This dialog box has the option to prevent further dialogs being created on this page. If the user selects this, then the user is unable to delete anymore filter lists as there is no confirmation dialog box.

Environment

ABP version 1.10.1.1545

How to reproduce

  1. Open ABP options --> filter lists
  2. Remove an existing filter list
  3. --> Observe the confirmation check box
  4. Select 'Prevent this page from creating additional dialogs'
  5. Select 'Ok'

Opera 35.0
ABP 1.10.1.1545
Win 10

Observed behaviour

Dialog boxes are disabled and the user is unable to delete any more filter lists.

Expected behaviour

The user is not given the option to prevent creating additional dialogs on the ABP options page

Attachments (1)

4725_1454675945_remove_filter_opera.PNG (53.8 KB) - added by passbrains 4 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

Changed 4 years ago by passbrains

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by passbrains

1 - 09 Feb 2016 10:45:33 posted by Scott Cheer
The main issue here is that if the user selects to block further dialog boxes (by selecting that option), they are then not able to delete any more lists, as the dialog box is then blocked.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by scheer

  • Cc scheer added
  • Description modified (diff)
  • Summary changed from Removing filter subscription confirmation dialogue box has a chrome headline and an unnecessary checkbox to Selecting to prevent the page from creating additional dialogs when deleting a filter blocks the user from deleting more filter options.

comment:3 Changed 4 years ago by scheer

  • Summary changed from Selecting to prevent the page from creating additional dialogs when deleting a filter blocks the user from deleting more filter options. to Selecting to prevent the options page from creating additional dialogs when deleting a filter blocks the user from deleting more filter options.

comment:4 Changed 4 years ago by scheer

  • Description modified (diff)
  • Summary changed from Selecting to prevent the options page from creating additional dialogs when deleting a filter blocks the user from deleting more filter options. to When user selects to block additional dialogs on the options page, they are unable to delete anymore filters.

comment:5 Changed 4 years ago by greiner

  • Cc greiner added
  • Component changed from Unknown to User-Interface
  • Resolution set to rejected
  • Status changed from new to closed

There are a couple of points that are worth noting here:

  1. This issue will no longer occur after the release of the new options page.
  2. This checkbox only appears when seeing such a dialog the second time.
  3. Preventing such dialogs from showing up is a user choice that's offered by the browser. The assumption is that they are aware of what they're doing.
  4. Even if a user chooses to prevent dialogs from showing up, this preference only lasts for that session which means that everything will be back to normal when closing and opening the page again.

Therefore I'm rejecting this issue.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.